Becoming Healing-Centered: Organizations

General Resources A-R

• The Alberta Family Wellness Initiative Brain Story Certification
  The Brain Story, which puts scientific concepts into a narrative that is salient to both expert and non-expert audiences, is a free course from leading experts that will teach you about the science and significance of early experiences and their impact on lifelong health. The Brain Story synthesizes decades of research and reflects a body of knowledge that experts agree is useful for policy makers and citizens to understand.
  • 30 Hours of instruction time
  • Video of over 30 leading experts in neurobiology and mental health HERE.
  • Certification in Brain Story science
     
• Building a Hope Centered Organization: A Blueprint for HOPE, 2020
  In the fall of 2019, Oklahoma Department of Human Services (OKDHS) began the strategic planning process of becoming the first hope centered and trauma-informed state organization. The OKDHS executive leadership team gathered in February 2020 to create their vision for the science of hope as a guiding framework for practice. This blueprint is a living document which seeks to clarify and prioritize what OKDHS commits to action in using hope to ensure we can align strategies, establish and communicate priorities, and demonstrate how our plan reflects the values of our organization.
   
• Creating PRESENCE
  Creating PRESENCE is a new online organizational and clinical approach for creating trauma-informed, trauma-responsive and trauma-resilient organizations. It was created by Dr. Sandra Bloom.
   
• FUTURES Without Violence
  For more than 30 years, FUTURES has been providing groundbreaking programs, policies, and campaigns that empower individuals and organizations working to end violence against women and children around the world. FUTURES without Violence trains professionals such as doctors, nurses, judges, and athletic coaches on improving responses to violence and abuse. The organization also works with advocates, policymakers, and others to build sustainable community leadership and educate people everywhere about the importance of respect and healthy relationships.
   
• WHO Guidelines on Mental Health at Work, 2022
  This document provides evidence-based recommendations to promote mental health, prevent mental health conditions, and enable people living with mental health conditions to participate and thrive in work. The recommendations cover organizational interventions, manager training and worker training, individual interventions, return to work, and gaining employment. The guidelines on mental health at work aim to improve the implementation of evidence-based interventions for mental health at work.
   
• Healing Together
  Healing Together stands for a transformational model for healing that centers indigenous brilliance, cultural healing practices, and that envisions healing as a holistic, embodied, collective process led by and for survivors. Their education approach equips communities with culturally responsive resources, backed by science and indigenous wisdom and includes psychoeducation, somatic awareness and practice, mindfulness, cultural healing practices, expressive arts and play therapy, peer counseling, emotional first aid, group therapy and healing circle practice, and social rehabilitation. Healing Together offers culturally responsive trainings, workshops, and healing programs, through global healing hubs in the United States, Uganda, and Nepal.
   
• HOPE – Healthy Outcomes from Positive Experiences Workshops and Trainings
  HOPE represents a paradigm shift in how we see and talk about the positive experiences that support children’s growth and development into healthy, resilient adults. The four building blocks of HOPE are relationships, environment, engagement, and opportunities for social emotional development. The HOPE National Resource Center has introductory, intermediate, and advanced trainings that can be delivered virtually or in-person.
   
• Incorporating Trauma Informed Practice and ACEs into Professional Curricula - a Toolkit, 2016
  The toolkit is designed to aid faculty and teachers in a variety of disciplines, specifically social work, medicine, law, education, and counseling, to develop or integrate critical content on adverse childhood experiences and trauma informed care into new or existing curricula of graduate education programs.
   
• Iowa ACEs 360 Coalition Research and Resources
  This website has links to resources you can use to learn more about ACEs and response strategies. There are links to ACEs trainings, white papers and research, and information by sector (Education, Health Care, Faith, and Individuals and Families).
   
• Lakeside Global Institute
  Lakeside Global Institute (LGI) exists to empower youth and families to overcome difficulties and achieve success through quality educational and treatment services.  Lakeside offers ongoing professional development to social work, education and early childhood professionals in the Greater Philadelphia region. LGI also offers over 30 different courses and workshops, keynote addresses, seminars and training at conferences in the Northeastern United States. LGI is a collegiate-style professional development training.
   
• National Council’s Trauma-informed, Resilience-oriented Care (TIROC) training and consulting practice
  The TIROC training and consulting practice has helped organizations in primary care, behavioral health, schools, community services, managed care and government settings achieve the quadruple aim of enhancing the patient experience, improving population health, reducing costs and enhancing the work life of their staff. Through a lens of cultural humility, diversity, equity and inclusion, we help organizations build a data-informed workforce, organizational and community resilience, trauma-informed supervision and leadership and eliminate gaps in implementation of organizational, systemic culture change. Our experts are available for short- and long-term consulting and training engagements at your site or virtually and can work hands-on with your implementation team.
   
• Origins Training & Consulting
  Origins offers training and consulting for organizations and communities to integrate resilience and trauma-informed practices based on the science of adverse childhood experiences. Origins provides training to executives, management and supervisors, direct service professionals and para-professionals, caregivers, and community members across sectors.
   
• Path to a Just Society
  You're invited to add your logo to this infographic developed by the Race and Equity workgroup of PACEs Connection to help foster a common language and identify common points along the path to a just society. Use the infographic to gauge where you are, where you want to be, and what’s needed to get to the next level of integrating practices and policies based on the science of positive and adverse childhood experiences (PACEs). You can use the tool  as a starting point for conversations and actions to accelerate the PACEs science movement in your community as you work to prevent and heal trauma and help individuals, families, organizations, systems and communities—our world—toward reaching a just society, where all people flourish.
   
• Pathways to Resilience resources database
  Explore a compilation of resources within and across sectors to prevent and address trauma.
   
• Policy Guidance for Trauma-Informed Human Resources Practices, 2017
  This document is designed as a guide for organizations working to become trauma-informed. It is not limited to any particular system or type of organization so addresses the issues from a broad perspective. As an organization’s Human Resources (HR) structure may vary in its formality and breadth of responsibility, concepts outlined in this document may need to be adapted to match the needs of an organization/agency/business. This document provides policies and activities to consider for pre-employment, onboarding/orientation, ongoing employment, and off-boarding.
   
• Preparing Your Organization to Respond to Disasters and Terrorism, 2018
  Provides current recommendations from the National Child Traumatic Stress Network for partnering with local organizations; regional and federal resources available after a disaster or terrorism event; and strategies for staging response activities to address intermediate and long-term recovery. This series is designed to help child- and family-serving providers best position themselves to support their community following catastrophic events.
   
• Resilient and Trauma-Informed Community Strategies and Interventions Planning Guide, 2020
  This guide serves as a starting place to help teams navigate collaborative dialogue and actions to support the integration of trauma-informed practices, procedures and policies. Through a reflective process, teams can identify and reinforce strategies and interventions that are working well, while also identifying opportunities for improvement or change.
   
• Risking Connection
  Risking Connection creates a robust trauma-informed frame for many of the most-used interventions and processes This includes CBT, DBT and EMDR, as well as methods for adapting education and workplace processes to a more trauma-responsive pattern. The "20 Hour Risking Connection for multiple audiences" is available in a variety of delivery options, from half to full days based on application, staffing, and audience.
   
• Roadmap to Resilience
  Roadmap to Resilience guides the listener through specific, trauma-informed approaches to supporting children and their families. Created by a task force of international child trauma experts, the collection of free resources provides practical, accessible, and timely digital content (16-episode audio series and 40+ short videos) for all who care for kids. These tools can be used by mental health providers, medical or nursing professionals, parents, lawyers, social workers, and caring community members to advocate for and support children. The resources are free and available for download, use, and dissemination.
   

• A Roadmap for Trauma-Informed Organizations by Resilient Georgia
  ​The implementation of a trauma-informed approach is an ongoing organizational paradigm shift. Trainings on this website are divided into Trauma Aware, Trauma, Sensitive, Trauma Responsive, and Trauma Informed for the following sectors: first responders, healthcare providers, faith-based, juvenile justice, community, early childhood & education, youth-serving organizations, public health/social services, youth, school, parents & caregivers, and business.