Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PACEs Connection Resource Center

Websites, Toolkits, Classes, and Articles for Parents

Websites, Toolkits, Classes, and Articles for Parents


  • 1-2-3 Care: A Trauma-Sensitive Toolkit for Caregivers of Children
    The 1-2-3 Care Toolkit is intended to support caregivers on their journey towards trauma sensitivity. It is organized by topic, each offering a brief overview, specific tools that can be used with children, and where to find more information. Also included are handouts that can be used as teaching aids. Public health nurses at Spokane Regional Health District (SRHD) developed this toolkit for caregivers of children. Caregivers are defined broadly to include parents, grandparents, child care providers, teachers, and others who care for children daily. Recent advances in the understanding of how early childhood experiences shape the way the brain works over the lifetime reveal just how critically important the job of caring for children is. It turns out that the brain grows and develops differently in response to nurturing versus traumatic environments.
     
  • ACEs Science Toolkit for Parents from Lifelong Learning
    This resource list for parents has resources to help parents learn more about the following topics: meditation for children, family wellness, gratitude, mindfulness, understanding behavior, self-care, self-regulation, and types of behavior from trauma. 
     
  • Attachment & Trauma Network
    The Attachment & Trauma Network (ATN) has been the VOICE for traumatized children and their families since 1995. Through its mission of Support – Education – Advocacy, it seeks to improve the lives of children impacted by early childhood trauma, abuse and neglect, and prenatal exposures in their families, schools and communities. It has many resources for parents and schools. The ATN Resource Directory can help you find a trauma-informed, attachment-focused therapist or other professional. You can also learn about attachment and trauma, common trauma-based disorders and evidence informed treatment modalities, join ATN, sign up for an online support group, or email or call ATN for more support. ATN also offers resources for Therapeutic Parenting as well as articles and blogs written by and for parents in Our Voices: Touching Trauma at its Heart. 
     
  • Beating Trauma 
    Beating Trauma provides tools and resources of survivors of childhood trauma to take their recovery journey to a whole new level. Resources for survivors of childhood trauma include coaching, workshops, and weekly articles.
     
  • The California Surgeon General’s Playbook: Stress Relief for Caregivers and Kids during COVID-19 
    This document provides tools for caregivers to recognize and manage kids’ stress. The version for adults, The California Surgeon General’s Playbook: Stress Relief during COVID-19, offers guidance on protecting our brains and bodies from the stress and daily disruptions caused by COVID-19.
     
  • Caregiver Handouts: Games and Activities from Harvard Center on the Developing Child Pediatrics
    Here you’ll find handouts with suggestions for games and activities to do with children of different ages. These activities can promote child-caregiver bonding and build children’s brains through play.
     
  • Caregivers Guide to Wellbeing from Alia
    This colorful guide highlights the importance of self-care and support and inspire caregivers—including those caring for children or adults—by providing them with the knowledge, encouragement, and manageable techniques needed to increase their well-being and joy. The guide covers balance, connection, loss, change, and antiracism/cultural well-being
     
  • Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University Resource Library
    A collection of trauma-related resources, tools, and guides on topics such as brain architecture, lifelong health, mental health, neglect, resilience, and toxic stress. One example of a resource relevant to parents is the Activities Guide: Enhancing and Practicing Executive Function Skills with Children from Infancy to Adolescence, which describes a variety of activities and games that represent age-appropriate ways for adults to support and strengthen various components of executive function and self-regulation in children. Sign up for their mailing list to be notified of newly released resources. 
     
  • Darkness to Light
    Darkness to Light is a non-profit committed to empowering adults to prevent child sexual abuse. Resources include 5 Steps to Protecting Children, a framework for preventing child sexual abuse, Step-Up and Speak Out: A Parent’s Guide to Selecting Youth-Serving Organizations, and child sexual abuse prevention trainings.
     
  • Echo Parent Classes and Trainings
    Echo provides trauma and resilience training for families, communities, professionals and organizations. Echo’s vision is to ensure the physical and emotional safety of every child. We do this by teaching parents and any adult who serves children about childhood trauma and how it affects the body and brain. Our parenting classes and professional development training emphasize building compassionate adult/child relationships, understanding the critical role of attachment on human development, resilience and healing from trauma. Echo online classes are accessible in person or online. 
     
  • The Enough Abuse Campaign
    This campaign is a grassroots movement to provide adults and communities with the knowledge and skills they need to end the silent child sexual abuse epidemic. The website includes resources for parents, schools, organizations, and communities.
     
  • Family Acceptance Project LGBTQ Youth and Family Resources to Decrease Mental Health Risks & Promote Well-Being
    Includes crisis and support lines as well as culture-based, evidence-based, faith-based, and national resources for youth and families. 
     
  • Greater Good in Action
    Synthesizing hundreds of scientific studies, Greater Good in Action collects the best research-based methods for a happier, more meaningful life—and puts them at your fingertips in a format that's easy to navigate and digest. There is a section just for Parenting and Family. Topics include awe, compassion, connection, empathy, forgiveness, gratitude, happiness, kindness, mindfulness, optimism, parenting, purpose, resilience to stress, and self-compassion. 
     
  • Gun Safety Campaign Toolkit
    The ASK (Asking Saves Kids) campaign promotes a simple idea with the potential to help keep kids safe. Ask, "Is there an unlocked gun in your house?" before sending your child over to play. The toolkit from the American Academy of Pediatrics contains social media graphics. 
     
  • Helping Children with Loss

    The Helping Children with Loss Program by the Grief Recovery Institute can help you learn tools that will not only help your child today, but for the rest of their lives as well. This program is for parents, teachers, school counselors and anyone who has contact with children and can be used to help children deal with the loss a parent, grandparent, sibling, a divorce in the family, or even the loss of a pet.
     

  • Iowa ACES 360 Resources for Individuals and Families
    Even if you have experienced adversity in your life, supportive relationships and access to resources and opportunities in your community can help build well-being and buffer against future stress. This page shares ideas and resources for you to address toxic stress and build resiliency in your own life. It also offers training and resources for individuals who work with families to promote safe, stable, and nurturing relationships and environments for adults and children. 
     

  • National Child Traumatic Stress Network resources for parents
    Resources in multiple languages from the National Child Traumatic Stress Network for parents and caregivers about trauma types and treatments and trauma-informed care. Includes resources on issues such as trauma related to mass violence, economic difficulties, suicide, sexual assault, medical trauma, death of a loved one, and natural disasters. Many resources are also available in Spanish. Here are a few examples: 
    • Age-Related Reactions to a Traumatic Event: Describes how young children, school-age children, and adolescents react to traumatic events and offers suggestions on how parents and caregivers can help support them.

    • Assisting Parents/Caregivers in Coping with Collective Traumas: Offers strategies to help parents/caregivers cope with collective traumas. This fact sheet also provides guidance on what parents/caregivers can do to care for their children as they cope.

    • Coping in Hard Times: Fact Sheet for Parents: Helps parents understand how economic difficulties can affect their families, in terms of their sense of safety, connectedness, and hope. The fact sheet also helps families find ways to cope during uncertain times.

    • Childhood Traumatic Grief: Information for Parents and Caregivers: Provides information to parents and caregivers on Childhood Traumatic Grief. This fact sheet outlines how children grieve, what Childhood Traumatic Grief is, who develops Childhood Traumatic Grief, the signs a child might have Childhood Traumatic Grief, and what parents or caregivers can do to help.

    • Creating Supportive Environments When Scary Things Happen: Offers guidance on creating supportive environments for youth when scary things happen. This fact sheet includes information on routines, rhythm, and rituals. Also available in Spanish here.

    • Disasters: Includes resources for coping with hurricanes, earthquakes, tornadoes, wildfires, tsunamis, and floods, as well as extreme weather events such as blizzards, droughts, extreme heat, and wind storms.

    • Help Kids Cope: Helps parents talk to their kids about the disasters they may face and know how best to support them throughout—whether sheltering-in-place at home, evacuating to a designated shelter, or helping your family heal after reuniting. This mobile app is also a great resource for teachers and other professionals involved in children's lives. 

    • Talking to Children When Scary Things Happen: Offers guidance on talking with children and youth when scary things happen. This fact sheet includes information on checking in with yourself, clarifying your goal, providing information, reflecting, asking helpful questions, going slow, labeling emotions, validating, and reducing media exposure. Also available in Spanish here.

    • Teen Sexual Assault: Information for Parents: Defines key terms, including consent and coercion, and offers guidance to parents related to dating violence and sexual assault. This fact sheet describes how common teen sexual assault is, how it relates to dating relationships, the roles drugs and the Internet can play in increasing risk, as well as provides tips for staying safe and what to do if your teen has experienced sexual assault.

  • Number Story
    Resources for the public interested in learning more about ACEs and their ACE score, healing and prevention, and the science of ACEs. Specific healing and prevention tools are available for individuals, parents, and families and communities. Number Story teamed up with the American Society for the Positive Care of Children to help parents and caregivers understand, prevent, and heal from ACEs. Explore the toolkit, which is designed for caregivers to support the development and positive parenting of babies and children ages 0 to 5. The Number Story campaign, funded through private philanthropy, is a creation of the ACE Resource Network. The toolkit is also available in Spanish
     

  • One Tough Job 
    This website from the Children's Trust in Massachusetts connects parents with parenting information, ideas, and on-the-ground resources. 
     
  • Parenting Guides from Yolo County Child Abuse Prevention Council
    These guides for parents will give you ideas about how to nurture your child, weather emotional storms, take care of yourself, and enjoy time with your child, while also helping you feel empowered and closer to your child.
  • Parenting with PTSD 
    This HealthyPlace website has posts from Trauma! A PTSD blog. Blogs address multiple PTSD-related areas, including parenting with PTSD, anxiety, childhood trauma, grief, and PTSD causes, recovery, and treatment. 
     
  • Parenting Resource Center
    The American Society for the Positive Care of Children (SPCC) provides parenting education and support as the most effective way to support families and nurture children. The following resources are made possible through contributions by child and family advocates like you. The site has information on positive parenting, Adverse Childhood Experiences, child safety, children's mental health, foster care and adoption, fatherhood, LGBTQ+ youth, bullying and cyberbullying, child abuse and neglect, and COVID-19. 
     

  • Parenting for Social Justice
    This resource collection from ZERO TO THREE provides ideas for parents who are wondering how to raise children who will stand up against racism and injustice. There are books that parents can share with their child to nurture identity, anti-racist resources for parents to read, and ideas for those who want to raise children in a more just and inclusive world. 
     
  • Parenting Survival Guide: Caring for Kids with Mental Illness from Children's Mental Health Ontario
    This guide focuses on you, the parents, with practical tips and information on how to prioritize your own wellness and start making things better for yourself and your family.
     
  • The Past Is Present: The Impact of Your Childhood Experiences on How You Parent Today
    This article from ZERO TO THREE encourages parents to reflect on experiences they had growing up in order to make conscious decisions about what practices they want to repeat, and not repeat, with their own children. Available in English and Spanish. 
     
  • Preventing Child Sexual Abuse Resources
    This collection of online resources from the National Sexual Violence Resource Center provides information and tools for caretakers, organizations and communities assuming the responsibility of preventing child sexual abuse. Through basic information on child sexual development, defining sexual abuse, and learning effective strategies we can prepare to take action steps toward prevention.
     
  • Resources for Before and During an Emergency
    The American Red Cross library of fun and engaging animated videos can help children learn how to help stay safe during a variety of emergencies and cope with any thoughts or feelings that might come up along the way. Check out the Red Cross Kids Videos playlist on YouTube to view them all! All videos are available in English and Spanish.
     
  • Rise Magazine
    Rise magazine is written by parents who have faced the child welfare system in their own lives. Many people don’t know that the majority of children who enter foster care return home to their parents–and that most children in care wish for a lifelong relationship with their parents, whether they live with them or not. Helping parents is fundamental to helping children in foster care. Through personal essays and reporting, parents illuminate every aspect of the child welfare experience from parents’ perspectives. Sign up for a free individual subscription or purchase print copies to hand out to parents and child welfare staff. For professionals, Rise stories offer insight that can improve how you engage and support fragile families. For parents, Rise offers information, peer support, and hope. Online resources are available as well. 
     
  • Risking Connection Training for Foster Parents
    This instructor-led course is six sessions averaging 90 minutes each. Foster parents want to be there for the children and youth they serve—and this course helps them increase the tools in their toolkit, recognize their needs for self-care, and work with their childrens’ behavior from the Risking Connection perspective. Helps reduce the trauma of being a foster parent and can make a powerful difference for children and families alike.
     
  • Stop it Now!
    This organization is dedicated to stopping the sexual abuse of children. The website includes resource guides, prevention tools including tip sheets, trainings, and ways to get help online or by phone through the helpline (1-888-PREVENT).
     
  • Stress Health
    The Stress Health website from the Center for Youth Wellness shares many ways that parents can support a healthy stress response: sleep, nutrition, exercise, mental health, mindfulness and healthy relationships. These things help to decrease our stress hormones and inflammation for healthier brains and bodies. Stress Health is about learning how the stress that humans live with can have adverse effects if there is too much for too long – the emphasis of this aspect is on stress. It also emphasizes the importance of overall health – the focus of this aspect is on health. Every family goes through some adversity. For some families, however, the adversities are too many for a child’s stress response. If you’re a parent in this situation, fostering supportive relationships is the best thing you can do to help your kid.
     
  • Support Resources for Families of Gender Diverse Youth
    Includes resources collected by Healthychildren.org for parents, teachers and schools, and youth. 
     
  • Talking to Children about Gun Violence
  • Talking to Children about War
    This fact sheet from The National Child Traumatic Stress Network offers information for caregivers on how to talk to children about war. This fact sheet includes the potential impact and considerations when talking to children about war, how to start the conversation, understanding media coverage, and how to foster resilience. Also, now available in UkrainianRussianGerman, and Japanese.
     
  • Taming the Dragons: Helping Children Cope: Ages Birth to Twelve Years
    Taming the Dragons is a training manual for parents, foster parents, and kinship caregivers. It was developed out of a crisis nursery in WA state by Sue Delucchi. English and Spanish versions are available.
     
  • Three Ways to Help Children Channel Climate Change Anxiety into Positive Action
    Research based on questionnaire responses by children and young adults has articulated three main coping strategies for effectively dealing with anxiety over climate change. This article is by Child & Family Blog. 
     

  • Tools for Supporting Emotional Wellbeing in Children and Youth
    The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine have created tools to teach skills that can help children and youth cope with some of the challenges associated with the pandemic. There are tools for younger children and their parents as well as tools for youth and teens.
     

  • Links to PACEs Connection Collections on Practicing Resilience for Self-Care and Healing