General
Here are some resources to get you started in your journey to become a healing-centered organization.
General Resources
- The Alberta Family Wellness Initiative Brain Story Certification
The Brain Story, which puts scientific concepts into a narrative that is salient to both expert and non-expert audiences, is a free course from leading experts that will teach you about the science and significance of early experiences and their impact on lifelong health. The Brain Story synthesizes decades of research and reflects a body of knowledge that experts agree is useful for policy makers and citizens to understand.
- 30 Hours of instruction time
- Video of over 30 leading experts in neurobiology and mental health HERE.
- Certification in Brain Story science
- Building a Hope Centered Organization: A Blueprint for HOPE, 2020
In the fall of 2019, Oklahoma Department of Human Services (OKDHS) began the strategic planning process of becoming the first hope centered and trauma-informed state organization. The OKDHS executive leadership team gathered in February 2020 to create their vision for the science of hope as a guiding framework for practice. This blueprint is a living document which seeks to clarify and prioritize what OKDHS commits to action in using hope to ensure we can align strategies, establish and communicate priorities, and demonstrate how our plan reflects the values of our organization.
- Creating PRESENCE
Creating PRESENCE is a new online organizational and clinical approach for creating trauma-informed, trauma-responsive and trauma-resilient organizations. It was created by Dr. Sandra Bloom.
- FUTURES Without Violence
For more than 30 years, FUTURES has been providing groundbreaking programs, policies, and campaigns that empower individuals and organizations working to end violence against women and children around the world. FUTURES without Violence trains professionals such as doctors, nurses, judges, and athletic coaches on improving responses to violence and abuse. The organization also works with advocates, policymakers, and others to build sustainable community leadership and educate people everywhere about the importance of respect and healthy relationships.
- WHO Guidelines on Mental Health at Work, 2022
This document provides evidence-based recommendations to promote mental health, prevent mental health conditions, and enable people living with mental health conditions to participate and thrive in work. The recommendations cover organizational interventions, manager training and worker training, individual interventions, return to work, and gaining employment. The guidelines on mental health at work aim to improve the implementation of evidence-based interventions for mental health at work.
- Healing Together
Healing Together stands for a transformational model for healing that centers indigenous brilliance, cultural healing practices, and that envisions healing as a holistic, embodied, collective process led by and for survivors. Their education approach equips communities with culturally responsive resources, backed by science and indigenous wisdom and includes psychoeducation, somatic awareness and practice, mindfulness, cultural healing practices, expressive arts and play therapy, peer counseling, emotional first aid, group therapy and healing circle practice, and social rehabilitation. Healing Together offers culturally responsive trainings, workshops, and healing programs, through global healing hubs in the United States, Uganda, and Nepal.
- HOPE – Healthy Outcomes from Positive Experiences Workshops and Trainings
HOPE represents a paradigm shift in how we see and talk about the positive experiences that support children’s growth and development into healthy, resilient adults. The four building blocks of HOPE are relationships, environment, engagement, and opportunities for social emotional development. The HOPE National Resource Center has introductory, intermediate, and advanced trainings that can be delivered virtually or in-person.
- Incorporating Trauma Informed Practice and ACEs into Professional Curricula - a Toolkit, 2016
The toolkit is designed to aid faculty and teachers in a variety of disciplines, specifically social work, medicine, law, education, and counseling, to develop or integrate critical content on adverse childhood experiences and trauma informed care into new or existing curricula of graduate education programs.
- Iowa ACEs 360 Coalition Research and Resources
This website has links to resources you can use to learn more about ACEs and response strategies. There are links to ACEs trainings, white papers and research, and information by sector (Education, Health Care, Faith, and Individuals and Families).
- Lakeside Global Institute
Lakeside Global Institute (LGI) exists to empower youth and families to overcome difficulties and achieve success through quality educational and treatment services. Lakeside offers ongoing professional development to social work, education and early childhood professionals in the Greater Philadelphia region. LGI also offers over 30 different courses and workshops, keynote addresses, seminars and training at conferences in the Northeastern United States. LGI is a collegiate-style professional development training.
- National Council’s Trauma-informed, Resilience-oriented Care (TIROC) training and consulting practice
The TIROC training and consulting practice has helped organizations in primary care, behavioral health, schools, community services, managed care and government settings achieve the quadruple aim of enhancing the patient experience, improving population health, reducing costs and enhancing the work life of their staff. Through a lens of cultural humility, diversity, equity and inclusion, we help organizations build a data-informed workforce, organizational and community resilience, trauma-informed supervision and leadership and eliminate gaps in implementation of organizational, systemic culture change. Our experts are available for short- and long-term consulting and training engagements at your site or virtually and can work hands-on with your implementation team.
- Origins Training & Consulting
Origins offers training and consulting for organizations and communities to integrate resilience and trauma-informed practices based on the science of adverse childhood experiences. Origins provides training to executives, management and supervisors, direct service professionals and para-professionals, caregivers, and community members across sectors.
- Path to a Just Society
You're invited to add your logo to this infographic developed by the Race and Equity workgroup of PACEs Connection to help foster a common language and identify common points along the path to a just society. Use the infographic to gauge where you are, where you want to be, and what’s needed to get to the next level of integrating practices and policies based on the science of positive and adverse childhood experiences (PACEs). You can use the tool as a starting point for conversations and actions to accelerate the PACEs science movement in your community as you work to prevent and heal trauma and help individuals, families, organizations, systems and communities—our world—toward reaching a just society, where all people flourish.
- Pathways to Resilience resources database
Explore a compilation of resources within and across sectors to prevent and address trauma.
- Policy Guidance for Trauma-Informed Human Resources Practices, 2017
This document is designed as a guide for organizations working to become trauma-informed. It is not limited to any particular system or type of organization so addresses the issues from a broad perspective. As an organization’s Human Resources (HR) structure may vary in its formality and breadth of responsibility, concepts outlined in this document may need to be adapted to match the needs of an organization/agency/business. This document provides policies and activities to consider for pre-employment, onboarding/orientation, ongoing employment, and off-boarding.
- Preparing Your Organization to Respond to Disasters and Terrorism, 2018
Provides current recommendations from the National Child Traumatic Stress Network for partnering with local organizations; regional and federal resources available after a disaster or terrorism event; and strategies for staging response activities to address intermediate and long-term recovery. This series is designed to help child- and family-serving providers best position themselves to support their community following catastrophic events.
- Resilient and Trauma-Informed Community Strategies and Interventions Planning Guide, 2020
This guide serves as a starting place to help teams navigate collaborative dialogue and actions to support the integration of trauma-informed practices, procedures and policies. Through a reflective process, teams can identify and reinforce strategies and interventions that are working well, while also identifying opportunities for improvement or change.
- Risking Connection
Risking Connection creates a robust trauma-informed frame for many of the most-used interventions and processes This includes CBT, DBT and EMDR, as well as methods for adapting education and workplace processes to a more trauma-responsive pattern. The "20 Hour Risking Connection for multiple audiences" is available in a variety of delivery options, from half to full days based on application, staffing, and audience.
- Roadmap to Resilience
Roadmap to Resilience guides the listener through specific, trauma-informed approaches to supporting children and their families. Created by a task force of international child trauma experts, the collection of free resources provides practical, accessible, and timely digital content (16-episode audio series and 40+ short videos) for all who care for kids. These tools can be used by mental health providers, medical or nursing professionals, parents, lawyers, social workers, and caring community members to advocate for and support children. The resources are free and available for download, use, and dissemination.
-
A Roadmap for Trauma-Informed Organizations by Resilient Georgia
The implementation of a trauma-informed approach is an ongoing organizational paradigm shift. Trainings on this website are divided into Trauma Aware, Trauma, Sensitive, Trauma Responsive, and Trauma Informed for the following sectors: first responders, healthcare providers, faith-based, juvenile justice, community, early childhood & education, youth-serving organizations, public health/social services, youth, school, parents & caregivers, and business.
- SaintA Trauma Informed Care and Trauma Sensitive Trainings and Consulting
SaintA’s unique approach to Trauma Informed Care and Trauma Sensitive trainings centers on the Seven Essential Ingredients (7ei) that are vital to understanding the sources and impacts of trauma. No matter your business or organization’s setting, we will give you the tools and information you need to employ best practices and become truly Trauma Informed in your work. Trainings are offered for schools, child-serving organizations, early childhood care, and law enforcement care.
- SAMHSA’s Concept of Trauma and Guidance for a Trauma-Informed Approach, 2014
This paper from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) responds to and recognizes the impact of trauma on many sectors in behavioral health and beyond. The paper introduces the concept of trauma and offers a framework for how organizations, systems, and service sectors can become trauma-informed. It includes a definition of trauma (the three "E's"), a definition of a trauma-informed approach (the four "R's"), 6 key principles, and 10 implementation domains.
- SAMHSA’S Concept of Trauma and Guidance for a Trauma-Informed Approach in Youth Settings, 2015
This four-page SAMHSA document offers a framework designed to be used across service systems that interface with youth.
- The Sanctuary Institute
The Sanctuary Institute, a division of ANDRUS in Yonkers, NY provides training and consultation services to the organizations that work with vulnerable adults, children and families with an aim to help an agency’s leaders reclaim a culture of hope and innovation. The Sanctuary Institute’s transformational process requires deep commitment, but rewards participants with powerful and measurable organizational change. This transformational process emerged from a collaborative effort between Dr. Sandra Bloom and ANDRUS.
- SPACECAT (Suicide, Overdose, and Adverse Childhood Experiences Prevention Capacity Assessment Tool), 2021
Developed with the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), this tool can help local, state, and territorial health agencies better understand their capacity to address suicide, overdose, and ACEs.
- Strategies for Encouraging Staff Wellness in Trauma-Informed Organizations, 2016
This brief focuses on practical strategies for fostering trauma-informed care. It outlines the impact of chronic work-related stress and provides examples of two organizations (Camden Coalition of Healthcare Providers and Stephen and Sandra Sheller 11th Street Family Health Services of Drexel University) that prioritize staff wellness.
- The Surgeon General’s Framework for Workplace Mental Health and Well-Being, 2022
We can build workplaces that are engines of well-being, showing workers that they matter, that their work matters, and that they have the workplace resources and support necessary to flourish. This 30-page Surgeon General’s Framework for Workplace Mental Health and Well-Being offers a foundation that workplaces can build upon.
- Transforming Trauma Podcast, 2020
The podcast highlights individuals and communities thriving after Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) and Complex Trauma (C-PTSD). Interviews with NARM Therapists, and other prominent trauma specialists, highlight how the NeuroAffective Relational Model (NARM) fills a missing gap in the current trauma-informed efforts to address the legacy of developmental, relational, cultural and intergenerational trauma. Podcast guests guide listeners through the diverse ways NARM is applied to support individuals, couples, families and communities.
- Trauma-Informed Care, Implementation Resource Center
This site curates resources from experts in the field of trauma-informed care across the country and also draws largely from the experiences of health care organizations that participated in Advancing Trauma-Informed Care. This multi-site demonstration, led by CHCS and made possible through support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, sought to identify how trauma-informed approaches can be practically implemented across the health care sector.
- Trauma-Informed Care Interview Questions
This is a list of potential interview questions that may be used to identify key trauma-informed qualities in job candidates, including empathy, non-judgment, and collaboration.
- Trauma Informed Care: Perspectives and Resources, 2014
Georgetown University National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health and JBS International offers a video-enhanced resource that supports state and local decision makers, administrators, providers, and youth and family advocates to become more trauma-informed. There are 8 modules with video interviews, issues briefs, and regularly updated annotated resources in each module.
- Trauma-Informed Innovations in Crisis Services, 2017
This National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD) webinar series highlights the work of crisis service providers employing a trauma-informed approach. Each webinar focuses on how an agency implements one of the principles from SAMHSA’s Concept and Guidance for a Trauma-Informed Approach.
- Trauma-Informed Journalism: What It Is, Why It's Important and Tips for Practicing It, 2022
Experts and journalists who have researched and worked with trauma survivors say that practicing trauma-informed journalism not only leads to better, more accurate stories, but also helps protect survivors from further harm. This resource is from The Journalist's Resource from the Harvard Kennedy School Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy.
- Trauma-Informed Oregon's Roadmap to Trauma-Informed Care for Organizations, 2016
Despite a clear need for trauma informed care (TIC), it can be challenging to know what to do or where to start. This site has a short video that provides an overview of the tools Trauma Informed Oregon (TIO) has created in order to guide implementation efforts in programs, organizations, and systems: TIC logic model, the Standards of Practice, the Road Map to TIC, and the TIC Screening Tool. There are also resources for organizations.
- Trauma-Informed Organizational Change Manual, 2019
In January 2019, the Institute on Trauma and Trauma-Informed Care (ITTIC) released its Trauma-Informed Organizational Change Manual. The purpose of the manual is to guide organizations and systems in planning for, implementing and sustaining a trauma-informed organizational change. This manual provides a step-by-step guide with tools intended for anyone interested in implementing a trauma-informed approach.
- Trauma-Informed Philanthropy: A Funder's Resource Guide for Supporting Trauma-Informed Practice in the Delaware Valley, 2016
Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia, the Thomas Scattergood Behavioral Health Foundation, and United Way of Greater Philadelphia and Southern New Jersey partnered to produce this hands-on resource that will help funders understand the science behind trauma, adverse childhood experiences, and resilience; apply trauma-informed principles and practice to their grantmaking; and learn about existing local efforts to implement trauma-informed practice. This guide focuses on the Philadelphia region, but the concepts are transferable.
- Trauma-Informed Toolkit for Providers in the Field of Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities, 2017
This toolkit addresses a number of areas designed to support people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) who may have experienced trauma. Included is a guide for direct support professionals and others, background information on the problem of ACEs and the evidence that the problem is magnified in those with IDD, a guidance for trauma-informed behavioral planning, and directions for thinking about personal and agency solutions.
- Trauma ScreenTIME Course
Trauma ScreenTIME is an online training course on how to screen children for trauma. The Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut (CHDI) developed the training in collaboration with families and national experts based on best practices. The ScreenTIME course provides staff working with children and youth the knowledge to effectively screen children for trauma and connect families with their preferred supports and services to help children recover from trauma exposure. The ScreenTIME course is available at no cost to child-serving professionals. Additionally, continuing education credits are available.
- Understanding the Effects of Trauma on Health, 2017
This fact sheet explores the causes of trauma and its health impact. Opportunities to avoid or reverse the effects of trauma, ways in which health care providers can help patients heal from trauma, and policy changes that can support trauma-informed care are also explored.
- VetoViolence: Resources for Violence Prevention from the CDC
The VetoViolence website from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has tools and trainings on violence prevention programs and practice, such as how to address risks shared by different forms of violence or how to effectively build partnerships. Each tool and training will equip you with a unique set of skills that can bolster your work to stop violence before it starts. The site also has links to prevention information on the following topics: child abuse and neglect, intimate partner violence, sexual violence, suicide, youth violence, social norms, and violence prevention fundamentals. The Preventing Adverse Childhood Experiences trainings will help you understand, recognize, and prevent ACEs. You’ll learn about risk and protective factors, outcomes associated with ACEs, and evidence-based strategies you can use to reduce or eliminate the impact of ACEs and stop them from occurring in the first place.
- Zero Abuse Project
The Zero Abuse Project is committed to transforming institutions in order to effectively prevent, recognize, and respond to child sexual abuse. Our programs are designed to provide cross-disciplinary education and training, advocacy for systemic legal change, guidance for survivor support, and leadership on emerging technologies. We take a holistic approach by also recognizing and addressing the intersecting forms of child maltreatment in connection with child sexual abuse.
