The Helping Children with Loss Program by the Grief Recovery Institute can help you learn tools that will not only help your child today, but for the rest of their lives as well. This program is for parents, teachers, school counselors and anyone who has contact with children and can be used to help children deal with the loss a parent, grandparent, sibling, a divorce in the family, or even the loss of a pet.
Iowa ACES 360 Resources for Individuals and Families
Even if you have experienced adversity in your life, supportive relationships and access to resources and opportunities in your community can help build well-being and buffer against future stress. This page shares ideas and resources for you to address toxic stress and build resiliency in your own life. It also offers training and resources for individuals who work with families to promote safe, stable, and nurturing relationships and environments for adults and children.
Age-Related Reactions to a Traumatic Event: Describes how young children, school-age children, and adolescents react to traumatic events and offers suggestions on how parents and caregivers can help support them.
Assisting Parents/Caregivers in Coping with Collective Traumas: Offers strategies to help parents/caregivers cope with collective traumas. This fact sheet also provides guidance on what parents/caregivers can do to care for their children as they cope.
Coping in Hard Times: Fact Sheet for Parents: Helps parents understand how economic difficulties can affect their families, in terms of their sense of safety, connectedness, and hope. The fact sheet also helps families find ways to cope during uncertain times.
Childhood Traumatic Grief: Information for Parents and Caregivers: Provides information to parents and caregivers on Childhood Traumatic Grief. This fact sheet outlines how children grieve, what Childhood Traumatic Grief is, who develops Childhood Traumatic Grief, the signs a child might have Childhood Traumatic Grief, and what parents or caregivers can do to help.
Creating Supportive Environments When Scary Things Happen: Offers guidance on creating supportive environments for youth when scary things happen. This fact sheet includes information on routines, rhythm, and rituals. Also available in Spanish here.
Disasters: Includes resources for coping with hurricanes, earthquakes, tornadoes, wildfires, tsunamis, and floods, as well as extreme weather events such as blizzards, droughts, extreme heat, and wind storms.
Help Kids Cope: Helps parents talk to their kids about the disasters they may face and know how best to support them throughout—whether sheltering-in-place at home, evacuating to a designated shelter, or helping your family heal after reuniting. This mobile app is also a great resource for teachers and other professionals involved in children's lives.
Talking to Children When Scary Things Happen: Offers guidance on talking with children and youth when scary things happen. This fact sheet includes information on checking in with yourself, clarifying your goal, providing information, reflecting, asking helpful questions, going slow, labeling emotions, validating, and reducing media exposure. Also available in Spanish here.
Teen Sexual Assault: Information for Parents: Defines key terms, including consent and coercion, and offers guidance to parents related to dating violence and sexual assault. This fact sheet describes how common teen sexual assault is, how it relates to dating relationships, the roles drugs and the Internet can play in increasing risk, as well as provides tips for staying safe and what to do if your teen has experienced sexual assault.
Resources for the public interested in learning more about ACEs and their ACE score, healing and prevention, and the science of ACEs. Specific healing and prevention tools are available for individuals, parents, and families and communities. Number Story teamed up with the American Society for the Positive Care of Children to help parents and caregivers understand, prevent, and heal from ACEs. Explore the toolkit, which is designed for caregivers to support the development and positive parenting of babies and children ages 0 to 5. The Number Story campaign, funded through private philanthropy, is a creation of the ACE Resource Network. The toolkit is also available in Spanish.
Parenting Resource Center
The American Society for the Positive Care of Children (SPCC) provides parenting education and support as the most effective way to support families and nurture children. The following resources are made possible through contributions by child and family advocates like you. The site has information on positive parenting, Adverse Childhood Experiences, child safety, children's mental health, foster care and adoption, fatherhood, LGBTQ+ youth, bullying and cyberbullying, child abuse and neglect, and COVID-19.
Helpful Resources to Address the Mass Shooting in Uvalde, Texas from the Children's Mental Health Network
Resources For Educators, Families to Discuss Mass Shootings from the San Diego County Office of Education
Supporting Families: Young Children and Gun Violence from ZERO TO THREE
Talking to Children About Violence: Tips for Parents and Teachers from the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
We Grieve for the Families and Community of Uvalde from the National Research Center of Hispanic Children & Families
Three Ways to Help Children Channel Climate Change Anxiety into Positive Action
Research based on questionnaire responses by children and young adults has articulated three main coping strategies for effectively dealing with anxiety over climate change. This article is by Child & Family Blog.
Tools for Supporting Emotional Wellbeing in Children and Youth
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine have created tools to teach skills that can help children and youth cope with some of the challenges associated with the pandemic. There are tools for younger children and their parents as well as tools for youth and teens.
Links to PACEs Connection Collections on Practicing Resilience for Self-Care and Healing